Mavericks Invitational 2013 Big Wave Contest


mavericks invitational big wave surfing contest 610x376 Mavericks Invitational 2013 Big Wave Contest

For the first time in three years, surfers will be able to compete at the legendary big wave break, Mavericks. The Mavericks Invitational is a one-day-only contest running on Sunday, Jan. 20 at 8 a.m. at Pillar Point in Half Moon Bay, Calif. There has not been a contest at Mavericks in quite some time due to a lack of “contest-worthy” conditions. However, in a press release, competitor Shawn Dollar said the  incoming swell looks insane!

“This swell is going to offer huge waves and possibly perfect conditions,” he said. “This is a very powerful swell, and we will have dramatic conditions that will push the competitors to their limits.  Sunday is going to beautiful and very scary at times.  I look forward to seeing plenty of glory rides!”

Big waves and even bigger talent? Sounds like this year’s Mavericks Invitational is going to be epic. In the press release, contest director Jeff Clark said, “The waves are going to be insane, the weather is going to be beautiful and the level of surfing will break new ground.”

brianoverfelt 300x157 Mavericks Invitational 2013 Big Wave Contest

Mavericks Invitational competitors at this year’s opening ceremony.

And it will probably be quite the show, especially with the all-star competitor list. Probably every big wave surfer you could imagine is surfing in this event, including eleven time world champion Kelly Slater. Mark Healey, Shane Dorian, Dave Wassel, Nathan Fletcher and Rusty Long will all be competing. Greg Long will also be charging at Mavericks this weekend, even after a nearly fatal wipeout at Cortes Bank last month.

Those wishing to watch the action can tune in online by watching the live webcast. Those of you California locals looking to have more of an interactive experience can purchase tickets to the Mavericks Invitational Festival at the Oceano Hotel. Spectators are not allowed on the beach due to safety concerns.

Heat Line-ups

Heat 1
Peter Mel (USA)
Dave Wassel (HAW)
Mark Healey (HAW)
Kelly Slater (USA)
Ken Collins (USA)
Rusty Long (USA)
Heat 2
Chris Bertish (ZAF)
Jamie Sterling (HAW)
Grant Washburn (USA)
Shawn Dollar (USA)
Nathan Fletcher (USA)
Matt Ambrose (USA)
Heat 3
Tyler Smith (USA)
Ryan Augenstein (USA)
Zach Wormhoudt (USA)
Shane Dorian (HAW)
Greg Long (USA)
Ryan Seelbach (USA)
Heat 4
Alex Martins (BRA)
Anthony Tashnick (USA)
Grant Baker (ZAF)
Ben Wilkinson (AUS)
Carlos Burle (BRA)
Shane Desmond (USA)



Buy SURFBANG T-Shirts and Stickers