Hurley Pro Trestles Round 1 Heat Matchups


hurley pro trestles heat matchups 610x378 Hurley Pro Trestles Round 1 Heat Matchups

Today kicks off the first day of the seventh stop of the ASP World Tour and the first stop after the mid-year cutoff, the Hurley Pro Trestles. There have been some shakeups to the list of guys competitng at Trestles due to injuries, withdrawals and top alternates choosing not to surf.

Dane Reynolds, who has still yet to surf at a world tour contest officially withdrew himself citing the ongoing rib injury he suffered in late August in Japan. Dane showed up to New York for the Quiksilver Pro New York but didn’t set foot in the water the entire time he was there. I guess he’s not faking this one.

Also out of the Hurley Pro due to a rib injury is now world number four Jordy Smith. Jordy hurt himself in the later rounds of the Billabong Pro Tahiti. Jordy is not one to fake an injury so if he’s missing two contests in a row he really must not be in top form. Hopefully he’s ready to go for the remaining stops on tour following the Hurley Pro.

As we stated in the post about the mid-year cutoff, Yadin Nicol who qualified for the tour during the US Open of Surfing has hurt himself and gave his spot up to John John Florence.

With Jordy Smith and Dane Reynolds out it leaves two more open spots which would go to the first alternates on the list: Adam Melling, C.J. Hobgood, and Tom Whitaker. But for some unknown reason, C.J. has declined the chance to compete in California for the Hurley Pro. C.J. took to twitter yesterday and gave us a little explination.

The swell forecast for the contest is that they’ll see some smaller south south-southwest to south swell over the first couple days of the competition and then smaller fading surf is on tap for the second half of the waiting period. For the complete forecast, click here. Wouldn’t it be funny if the waves were better for the Quiksilver Pro New York then they are for the Hurley Pro?

The trials for the Hurley Pro will be in the water at 8:30am PST (11:30am EST) and Round 1 will begin at 9am PST. You can watch all the action live at

Heat 1:
 Joel Parkinson (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 2: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Heitor Alves (BRA), John John Florence (HAW)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Chris Davidson (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), TBA
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), TBA
Heat 6: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Michel Bourez (PYF), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 9: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 10: Julian Wilson (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 11: Damien Hobgood (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Tom Whitaker (AUS)
NOTE: Draw subject to change pending withdrawals.




Buy SURFBANG T-Shirts and Stickers